Log in

About The Committee - NSW branch

NSW Branch Committee Members 2018-2019

Way Kaey SOON, NSW President     

Wai Kaey Soon is a barrister at Frederick Jordan Chambers. Prior to his admission to the Bar in 2014, Wai Kaey spent 4 years as a litigation solicitor with a particular expertise in insurance and insolvency law and litigation. His practice spans matters in Courts and Tribunals across Australia and he has expertise in commercial, equity, corporations, and intellectual property law.

Wai Kaey believes that the legal profession in Australia has open before it the vast markets and opportunities of the entire Asian region, and wants all practitioners to find and take advantage of those opportunities, at whatever level. Wai Kaey is also a passionate believer in providing support networks for legal practitioners, and ensuring that all practitioners feel welcome and accepted by others in the profession, no matter their background.


Marija YELAVICH, Secretary

Marija Yelavich is in her final year at Western Sydney University, studying a Bachelor of Law / Bachelor of International Studies (Asian Studies and Mandarin) with a Bachelor of Critical Thinking and Leadership. Marija is currently completing her clerkship with Piper Alderman and was named as Lawyers Weekly, Women in Law Awards 'Law Student of the Year' in 2017.

In 2013, Marija founded Dare to Know Publications and is the Chief Editor of the Western Sydney University law student magazine, 'Sapere Aude.' Under her leadership, the magazine has welcomed figures such as Race Discrimination Commissioner, Dr Tim Soutphommasane to explore the topics of cultural and gender diversity. As an activist, mentor and community advocate, Marija is passionate in contributing to the growth of the legal profession and broader community. Marija's work and leadership has been recognised by a number of community and University awards and she looks forward to expanding the outreach of the AALA.

Ken OOI, Committee Member, Secretary 2017

Ken Ooi is a Lawyer in the Corporate M&A team at Clayton Utz.  Ken acts for publicly-listed, private, and state owned clients on transactions in Australia.  Ken works across a range of industries including infrastructure, real estate, funds management and financial services. Prior to embarking on a career in the law, Ken worked in finance and is a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia.  Ken uses his unique background and dual qualifications in accounting and finance to help develop commercial solutions for his client. Ken has a strong interest in diversity and inclusion and is heavily involved with these activities at Clayton Utz.

Pei CHOW, Committee Member

Pei is a solicitor in the property team at Salvos Legal. She graduated from the Australian National University with a Bachelor of Laws and Bachelor of Music. A passionate supporter of cultural diversity, Pei looks forward to working with the AALA in exploring opportunities for young Asian-Australian lawyers.

Matthew FLORO, Committee Member

Matt advises on public interest environmental and planning law as a Solicitor at the NSW Environmental Defenders Office.  Matt has worked for top-tier law firms in Queensland, Victoria and New South Wales and has worked in a central government agency.  Admitted as a lawyer in October 2013, Matt holds a Master's degree in Law and is currently completing a Master's degree in Public Administration.  Passionate about community, he has led Out for Australia Victoria, the Australian Law Students' Association and his university law society. 

Kenneth HONG, Committee Member

Originally from Seoul, Ken first came to Australia in 1994. He was admitted as a lawyer in NSW in 2004 and currently works as a principal lawyer at H & H Lawyers. Ken has more than 10 years of experience in advising and acting for clients who are private and public companies, government agencies as well as small to medium businesses and individuals. Ken is an active member of the Korean and Australian community in Sydney. He previously served as the president of the Korean Australian Lawyers Association (“KALA”) and the Korean Australian Young (“KAY”) Leaders. Currently, Ken is the principal solicitor of the Korean Community Legal Services, an advisory board member of Multicultural NSW, and a council member of the Medical Council of NSW. Ken is fluent in English and Korean.

Edwina Kwan, Committee Member


Edwina is a lawyer in the International Arbitration team at King & Wood Mallesons, Sydney. Edwina has particular expertise in China and regional Asian-related disputes.  Currently based in Sydney, Edwina has also practiced as a lawyer in Beijing, Hong Kong and Perth. Edwina co-founded the China Young Arbitration Group in Beijing and has lectured at the Tsinghua University Master of Laws Program in International Arbitration & Dispute Settlement. She is admitted as a lawyer in New South Wales, Hong Kong and the High Court of Australia and speaks English and Mandarin. Edwina was also one of 25 young leaders chosen for the Cultural Diversity and Leadership Fellowship program at University of Sydney Business School & the Australian Human Rights Commission in 2018 and looks forward to continuing the work of the AALA in representing Asian Australian lawyers.

Elizabeth WANG, Committee Member     

Elizabeth is a Korean Australian Solicitor and she is currently studying LL.M at University of Sydney and preparing Bar exam 2019. She specialises primarily in family law and migration law. Previously, she worked in the fields of technology (Computer Science) and Project Management in Orange Business Services and thus she has acquired extensive knowledge and experience from those professional areas. She recently became an ordinary committee member of AALA. What inspired her to commit herself to this endeavour was her passion for cultural and gender diversity. As a minority, she has often encountered gender bias in her native country, South Korea. Concurrently, she has experienced gender and racial bias and discrimination in Australia too. She is proud to support cultural diversity in legal profession in AALA. 

Notice: This part is currently under construction and sorry for any inconvenience. 


Copyright 2015 Asian Australian Lawyers Association Inc.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software