Victoria (VIC) Branch Committee Members 2016-2017

Zubair Mian  President
Kerry Truong  Secretary 
Daniel Nguyen  Committee Member
Ian Nathaniel  Committee Member 
John Arthur  Committee Member
Jing Zhu  Committee Member
Angela Lee Committee Member
Kylie Chow  Committee Member
Jenny Si Committee Member

Zubair Mian, President

Admitted in 1986 after graduating from Melbourne University in 1985, Zubair Mian is the Principal and owner of Mian Phillips & Co, a boutique suburban practice established in 1988, currently in Surrey Hills and practicing in commercial litigation, Property, Wills, Probate and estate Planning. Zubair is the President of the Eastern Suburbs Law Association (ESLA) which represents solicitors working or living East of Melbourne CBD. The northern boundaries are the Eastern Freeway, Thompson's Road, Warrandyte Road and Kangaroo Ground – St Andrews Road. It has over (1700) one thousand seven hundred members. Zubair previously served on the ESLA committee for a number of years as committee member, assistant treasurer and Vice President. Zubair is registered mentor with the Law Institute of Victoria (LIV) and AALA mentoring programs and has been informally mentoring young lawyers in private practice since 1995. Zubair is a Councillor and Board member of Law Institute of Victoria (LIV) having been re-elected in 2015 for a further term of three (3) years, commencing 1 January 2016.

Kerry Truong, Secretary

Daniel Nguyen, Committee Member

Daniel is a barrister at the Victorian Bar. He practices in common law/personal injury, commercial matters and coronial inquests. Prior to joining the Bar, Daniel was the Class Actions Coordinator at the Supreme Court of Victoria. There he worked with Justice Jack Forrest in the Black Saturday bushfire proceedings and other judges who presided over class actions. He was previously Associate to Justice Tony Pagone, when his Honour was in charge of the Commercial Court at the Supreme Court.

Daniel is the Secretary General of the International Commission of Jurists Victoria and a board member of the Flemington-Kensington Community Legal Centre. He tutors in Torts Law at Monash University and recently presented on the topic of 'Death Penalty Developments in the USA' at the Ho Chi Minh University of Law, Vietnam.

Ian Nathaniel, Committee Member 

John Arthur, Committee Member 

Jing Zhu, Committee Member

Jing is a common law and commercial barrister with the Victorian Bar. She previously practised as a solicitor with Russell Kennedy acting on behalf of the Victorian WorkCover Authority to analyse serious injury applications, defend common law claims and disputes regarding statutory scheme entitlements. She has also practised as a plaintiff solicitor at Holding Redlich where in addition to WorkCover claims, she practised in transport accident, public liability, crimes compensation and medical negligence matters.

Jing is the Legal Director of the Foster Care Association of Victoria, sits on the Board of Governors at Shelford Girls' Grammar and is a Melbourne University Law School Mentor. She is also the Chair of the LIV's Privacy Working Group and formerly a Councillor of the Law Institute of Victoria.

Angela Lee, Committee Member

Kylie Chow, Committee Member

Jenny Si, Committee Member

Copyright 2015 Asian Australian Lawyers Association Inc.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software